©2018 by CCR Gardens. Proudly created with Wix.com

recipe ideas

Below is a collection of directions, ideas, and links to recipes that come highly recommended by family, friends, or us.  We hope you enjoy some ideas on how to use the fresh produce that you can find in our weekly CSA Veggie Bags!  If you have any great recipes you would like to share, please email us at ccrgardens@gmail.com so that we can share with the rest of community!

ARUGULA:

Beet Salad with Arugula! https://natashaskitchen.com/beet-salad-with-arugula-balsamic-vinaigrette/

Roasted Beets. https://www.blessthismessplease.com/simple-roasted-beets/

 

BASIL:

Basil Pesto. 

Basil and Heirloom Tomato Toss. https://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/basil-heirloom-tomato-toss/

Caprese Salad Kabobs: https://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/caprese-salad-kabobs/

Garlic Basil Butter (use some of our fresh garlic in lieu of powder) https://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/garlic-basil-butter/

BEANS:

We like to think our beans are best eaten fresh!  Dip in a sauce of your choice if you'd like!

BROCCOLI:

BEETS:

Beet Salad with Arugula! https://natashaskitchen.com/beet-salad-with-arugula-balsamic-vinaigrette/

BRUSSEL SPROUTS:

CANTALOUPE (SEE MELONS)

 

CARROTS:

We like to think our carrots are best eaten fresh! But heres some cool ideas on how to use the tops:

Sauted Carrot Greens. https://mynextmeal.wordpress.com/2011/05/27/sauteed-carrot-greens/

Carrot Green Pesto. https://yupitsvegan.com/carrot-top-pesto/

CELERY ROOT:

Use the same as celery!

CHINESE CABBAGE:

CILANTRO:

CUCUMBERS:

Cucumber Tomato and Onion Salad - https://www.dinneratthezoo.com/cucumber-tomato-salad/

DILL:

Please, please, please! - try this - add to your scrambled eggs.  Sprinkle some homemade hot sauce on top!

CABBAGE:

Colesaw, of course! https://www.inspiredtaste.net/26522/coleslaw-recipe/

Sauerkraut. https://www.culturesforhealth.com/learn/recipe/natural-fermentation/sauerkraut/ 

FRISEE (ENDIVE):

7 ways to use in a salad.  https://www.foodandwine.com/blogs/7-ways-make-classic-frisee-salad

GARLIC (BULBS):

 

We like to put garlic in everything!  But here's a couple specific ideas:

Garlic Aioli: https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/213608/garlic-aioli/

Roasted Garlic: https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/robin-miller/roasted-garlic-recipe-2103776

20 clove Garlic Soup (no sense in bringing the Listerine, it wont help and that's fine by us!) http://ediblemichiana.ediblecommunities.com/recipes/20-clove-garlic-soup

Garlic Buffalo Wings (would go great with some homemaded hot sauce, see "Peppers" below)  http://ediblehudsonvalley.ediblecommunities.com/recipes/garlic-buffalo-wing-sauce

GARLIC (SCAPES):

Garlic Scape Pesto (YUM!) - https://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1015301-garlic-scape-pesto

Can chop up and saute with other greens/veggies.  Dont use the pointed end as it can be stringy.

HAKAREI (SALAD) TURNIPS: 

 

Roasted Turnips and Radishes - http://www.justalittlebitofbacon.com/roasted-hakurei-turnips-radishes/

 

Use cut up or sliced thinly fresh in salads 

KALE:

Kale Chips. (Family and friend tip - try in air fryer!) https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/melissa-darabian/crispy-kale-chips-recipe-1923723

Can also freeze them to be added to smoothies later.

Sauteed Kale.  https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/bobby-flay/sauteed-kale-recipe-1960155

KOHLRABI:

Peel, slice, add salt and pepper, and eat fresh!  Yum!

Roasted.  https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/203975/roasted-kohlrabi/

LEEK:

Saute with anything you would use onion for.  

https://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/slideshow/23-favorite-leek-recipes-like-onions

MACHE:

This extremely cold hardy green is sometimes the only thing that will stay alive in our cold winters!  Use in salads.

MELONS (CANTALOUPE):

Do we really need to tell you how to eat these>!?

MELONS (WATERMELON):

DITTO!

MESCULAN (SPRING MIX):

A great base for all your amazing salad ideas.  Try to add some of our other veggies to bring lots of flavor to the party!

ONION (GREEN) (SCALLIONS):

Can be used as garnish, in tacos/wraps, on salads, tossed in some fried rice, added to sandwiches - the list is endless!.

ONION (BULB):

Cucumber Tomato and Onion Salad - https://www.dinneratthezoo.com/cucumber-tomato-salad/

PAK CHOI:

This is Kevin's personal favorite slaw recipe. https://www.epicurious.com/recipes/member/views/-crunchy-bok-choy-slaw-58394571

PARSLEY:

PEAS:

EAT FRESH!!

PEPPERS (JALEPENO):

Poppers. https://cookieandkate.com/baked-jalapeno-poppers-recipe/

 

PEPPERS (POBLANO):

Poblano is our family's favorite all around pepper.  Use it just as you would any green or bell pepper.

Also, Rellanos! https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/marcela-valladolid/stuffed-poblano-chiles-chiles-rellenos-recipe-2040587

 

PEPPERS (OTHER HOT):

Home Fermented Hot Sauce - Ask Kevin about this and he'll talk to you for hours.  We think its one of only few things that he enjoys talking about!

Here's a decent recipe.  https://www.mountainfeed.com/blogs/learn/fermented-hot-sauce-recipe

PEPPERS (SWEET):

RADISHES:

SPINACH:

SUMMER SQUASH:

SWISS CHARD: 

Swiss Chard Cakes (CCR Garden Customer Recommended): https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/254663/swiss-chard-cakes/?fbclid=IwAR1XmVNXvH4AXBnAJhcrJQbZIuxMUtTrrPnIVLJxSEq--IkTLmeSHGPyZl8

SWEET POTATOES:

Sweet potato fries - http://ediblenashville.ediblecommunities.com/recipes/sweet-potato-fries-garlic-aioli

TATSOI:

TOMATOES:

 

Bruschetta! https://www.aheadofthyme.com/2016/09/easy-tomato-bruschetta-with-balsamic-glaze/

Cucumber Tomato and Onion Salad - https://www.dinneratthezoo.com/cucumber-tomato-salad/

WATERMELON (SEE MELONS)

WINTER SQUASH:

YELLOW SQUASH (SEE SUMMER SQUASH)

ZUCCHINI (SEE SUMMER SQUASH)